Lorenzo Snow, Nov 26, 1900; Monday

-- Nov 26, 1900; Monday
President [Lorenzo] Snow and President [George Q.] Cannon were at the office as usual today. The sum of $1,300 in labor tithing in favor of the Bear Lake Academy was appropriated.

Jesse M. Smith of Layton, Davis county [Utah], and J. D. Wood called on President Snow and desired permission for the Livestock Convention, which will meet in this city in January, to use the Assembly Hall. The convention to pay for the expense of the building. The request was granted. (1)

-- Tuesday, Nov 27, 1900
[Apostle Rudger Clawson Diary] Salt Lake City. Cloudy and cool; frost during the night. 11 a.m. Meeting at the President's office, in lieu of the regular Thursday meeting at the temple. Present: Presidents Lorenzo Snow and Geo. Q. Cannon, and Apostles F. M. Lyman, Geo. Teasdale, H. J. Grant, A. H. Lund, R. Clawson, Reed Smoot.

A letter, addressed to Apostle F. M. Lyman by Elder Platte D. Lyman, president of the European Mission, was read. He spoke in reference to some deaf mutes in England, who professing belief in the gospel desired baptism. He was in doubt as to whether they should be given the privilege, as he feared they might possibly be disappointed in reference to some expectations they might have regarding the gift of healing. In such case the church would be injured. It was decided that if the mutes believe and have faith, they should not be denied baptism, and if they have sufficient faith to be healed, they could be healed.

Conference appointments: to Bear Lake Stake, H. J. Grant; to Oneida, R. Clawson and Reed Smoot. The question of dividing some of the larger stakes was discussed, and it was unanimously decided to divide the Utah Stake into three stakes, with Stephen L. Chipman for president of the subdivision on the north, Jos. B. Keeler, president of the middle section, and Jos. E. Page, president of the subdivision on the south. The division to be effected January 1901. It was also determined to divide San Pete into two stakes, the dividing line to be drawn between Spring City and Ephraim. Bp. C. N. Lund was selected for president of the north division. Apostle Lund was delegated to look over the ground and submit a name for president of the south division to succeed Pres. Canute Petersen, now somewhat unfitted for the presidency of a stake by the infirmities of advancing age. He is a man of unflinching integrity and in his younger days was energetic, active, and progressive. He is

justly entitled to the plaudit: "Well done, good and faithful servant."

In speaking of politics Pres. Snow declared that no man should be chosen for president of a stake or bishop of a ward, who did not place his priesthood and calling above political considerations. President Cannon expressed himself as being opposed to the leading brethren of the church being actively engaged in politics. The brethren present shared a similar view, and it was thought a wise and proper thing, as a rule, for apostles, presidents of stakes, and bishops of wards to refrain from running for political offices. Benediction by President Geo. Q. Cannon. (2)

1 - First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve minutes
2 - Stan Larson (editor), A Ministry of Meetings: The Apostolic diaries of Rudger Clawson, Signature Books in association with Smith Research Associates, Salt Lake City, 1993, http://bit.ly/rudgerclawson

LDS History Chronology: Lorenzo Snow

Mormon History Timeline: the life of Lorenzo Snow


You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "LDS Church History" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to LDS-church-history+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.